About Me

My photo

I have been an avid reader from as early as I can remember. Since becoming a Christian in my early 20s, my passion for reading led to specifically Christian fiction and this has developed into reviewing them on this blog. I love reading new author's novels or author's who have not had many reviews or exposure and giving them much needed encouragement where appropriate.   
This blog is the intellectual property of Peter Younghusband, and any quotation of part or all of it without his approval is illegal

Search This Blog

Loading...

Saturday, 21 January 2017

The Journal of Ezekiel Walker by John Zelenski


The Journal of Ezekiel Walker



In the wake of light…evil waits. 

In the fall of 1945, just after Word War II, Ezekiel Walker has returned home on a furlough from his Civilian Public Service Unit. As Ezekiel tries to adjust back to life at the farm, strange and unexplainable events begin to occur at the homestead, and Ezekiel begins to experience visions and bizarre sightings. When a stranger suddenly arrives with promises to rebuild the small town of Walker’s Vale and befriend the young Ezekiel, a portal to the supernatural is opened and lives will never be the same.

The Guru's Review: 


I have waited approximately two years to read this prequel. So many times I have looked at it on my Kindle Cloud Reader and Goodreads shelf longing to read it, but have had other books to review by author requests. John has asked me so many times over this period when I would be able to review it. Well, that time has come!

Being the first novel I have read from Zelenski, I must say that he writes competently. As this novella is in a journal style of writing, he has mastered this very well. It tells the story effectively and transports the reader into the post-WWII era. More importantly, into the mind and personality of Ezekiel Walker. I really felt as if I was there with Ezekiel as he was journaling these events. You also experience his faith and relationship with God. That becomes very encouraging. Not only is Zelenski's writing effective in telling this story, but it is his construction of it that results in one suspenseful, action-packed read, engaging, compelling and biblically based.

I have often stated in previous reviews that part of an author's character, personality and relationship with God can be found scattered throughout the story. These are found in characterisation and plot constructs. This is very much the case with this novella. I like what I see here. How much of Ezekiel is based on Zelenski? Author's are encouraged to write what they know. Zelenski has had dealings with the demonic in his own life and this novella may be influenced by this. The next novel, Walker' s Vale is directly based on his past dealings. How much of this personal experience has shaped his relationship with God? How much of his relationship with God has encouraged him to deal with the demonic God's way? From reading this tome, I would say a lot on both of these accounts. I very much appreciate his adherence to biblical, spiritual warfare principles that he has included. This honours God. Using these principles, he shows that anything to do with the demonic can be overcome by 
  • engaging the name of Jesus, 
  • pleading the blood of Jesus 
  • quoting specific bible verses (in this novel, Isaiah 41:10 was used as an example)
  • being open to, and obedient to, the leading of the Holy Spirit 
  • praying before, during and after any demonic activity. 
Zelenski shows that it is God's battle and not ours. He is showing us in this novella that a horror and spiritual warfare story is not worth telling if it is not constructed from a biblical worldview. 

I often state in reviews that I like to see certain criteria in Christian fiction: 
  • it has entertained me 
  • it has encouraged my walk with God, 
  • it has not deviated from known biblical doctrine, and it will not lead a non-believer astray or promote false doctrine, 
  • it honours God, 
  • it does not encourage worship of the created (eg angels) instead of the Creator (God).
Zelenski has achieved all this for me in this novella. Very impressed with his first offering. If this is the standard that he has set for future novels, then I am definitely a fan. 

Highly Recommended. 5/5 Stars 

World Building 5/5 Characters 5/5 

Spiritual Level 5/5 

Story 5/5 

Enemy Spiritual Level 5/5

Overall Rating: 5/5 

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Spiritually, based on my review and on the following reference booklet,


A Spiritual System for Rating Books by David Bergsland, and that The Journal of Ezekiel Walker contains elements of the criteria of what constitutes Christian Spirit-Filled Fiction outlined in this booklet, I award John Zelenski with (click on the title below to see what this is based on)

The Reality Calling Christian Spirit-Filled Fiction Award





Congratulations, John Zelenski!


To read a preview or buy this enthralling novella, it is available online at Barnes and Noble, or can be purchased and autographed from the author from his website at http://www.johnjzelenski.com/.

Currently not available from Amazon.

Monday, 16 January 2017

Supraphysica by Drew Boudreaux

Supraphysica


For Philip, a sociology student at N.Y.U., January 25th was supposed to be a normal start to the spring semester. That definitely didn't happen. As the day unfolded, he came to faith, unknowingly befriended an angel, and was recruited into a covert project to literally build a new world. The next two weeks were equally paranormal—yet a lot more trying as Philip's newfound faith is stretched nearly to the point of nonexistence.

Join Philip, Encar, and their respective families in this modern story of faith, hope, and love—and a healthy dose of geoscience.

The Guru's Review: 


This is one very promising offering from Boudreaux with this debut novel. I really liked it. I found it entertaining, it kept me wondering what is going to happen next, how are these adolescents/young adults are going to create this new world with all its astronomical logistical issues. On this subject, the author employs his knowledge and experience of geology (his occupation) to address this issue including knowledge of geology's associated fields as well. From this platform, he successfully marries this field of science with faith and how they validate each other. I applaud the author for doing this as it takes courage and conviction to address this issue in a world that is anti-Christian and hostile to what the Bible says on any topic. We need more Christians in the science and medical fields to take a stand like Boudreaux has in whatever way they can to get the message out there, that the evidence of Creation and its Creator is found in this physical world we live in.

I pray that Boudreaux can continue to create novels along these lines. He has a knack for being persuasive and making a compelling case while making the read entertaining and educational.

I am not sure if the author intended to add humour to this tome, but I found it quite funny having the angel Gabriel manipulating physics in various ways to appear as human as possible in walking, eating, drinking. Other authors have not considered this type of manifestation from the supernatural to the physical, they just have their angels take human form and that is it. Even the Biblical account of angels does not, as far as I remember from these accounts therein, address this question of how angels appeared in human form. I was not too fussed on this aspect of the how I just accept that they do appear as fully human for the purpose they do as outlined in this novel. However, I did enjoy the author's take on this, it was very clever. 


I again applaud Boudreaux for the spiritual/biblical aspects of this novel. The Gospel is presented as it is in a testimony type format which is fine as this is one effective way of evangelisation without it being preachy or long-winded. I enjoyed the newly found zeal and enthusiasm that Ryan had from his recent conversion and the change in his emotional, mental and heart attitude. That brought back very fond memories of my own conversion and illustrates how that should not change or diminish as the Christian gets older, not just in a physical sense, but as they experience life in this fallen world. I enjoyed seeing the faith of Philip be challenged as events affecting his mother and father deteriorated and him being thrust into spiritual warfare that resulted in him growing spiritually and learning to trust God as Sovereign. 

I would have liked more of the spiritual warfare to be further developed as I feel this would have not only added more suspense to the plot but showed how spiritual warfare is not just sporadic occurrences in our lives but a continual one as we are encouraged in the Word to always be on guard and ready to fight, to daily put on our spiritual armour etc. It was refreshing seeing Philip's peers encourage him and build into his spiritual life and enable him to grow spiritually. These are good examples of Christian/biblical fellowship and relationship and allowing God to be the author and finisher of their faith, focussing on Philip in this example. 

I have stated in many reviews that I am not one for romance as the general genre but if it is included as a subplot, then I am a happy reader. Boudreaux shows the beginnings of expertise in this area. I also love Christian romance from a male's perspective and Boudreaux can be added to my list of successful male authors who portray romance from a biblical point of view. I found it refreshing that he touched on the sexual temptation/lust that exists in developing adolescents lives and how Philip's male peer was able to assist him in dealing with this from a biblical perspective. Sexuality is one very hot potato in Christian circles as the Church does not handle this well and thus Christians are more affected by the humanistic effects of sexuality than what should be and can be moulded into our lives from the model that God has provided in the Bible and His intention.

There is only one major issue I have with this novel. The ending. Everything leading up to the creation of this new world was exciting and had a great build up, but when the real reason the group built this world was explained, I found it a letdown. Not saying that this reason or the author's message is not valid as to how we have and are treating this planet that God has given us, but it just did not seem to fit into this part of the plot or its build up to the end. However, the description of what the members of the group and notably Encar and Philip planned to do once they have returned to their real world/lives seems to have rescued this let down somewhat.

I can see why Drew has been awarded a Redemptive Speculative Fiction Award by Reality Calling. It is appropriate and I pray that Drew continues to be courageous, daring and faithful in including biblical themes, doctrines, attitudes and discipleship in future novels and using his scientific expertise to show God as God and Creator of this home He has given us to steward and to thwart the false scientific theories that exist to deny the existence of God.


All in all a very impressive debut novel. I look forward to more from this author. I can definitely see that God has not finished with him as a novelist yet!

Strongly Recommended.  4/5 Stars

World Building 5/5

Characters 5/5

Spiritual Level 4/5

Story 4/5

Enemy Spiritual Level 2/5

Overall Rating: 4/5 

To read a preview of Supraphysica or to buy a copy, click on the BUY/PREVIEW buttons below:

Friday, 13 January 2017

Author/Novel Spotlight: James E.Tate

Today I am spotlighting new Christian author, James E. Tate. This was not a difficult decision after discovering his book, I Go To Prepare a Place - An Allegory of Eternity, on Facebook, James being a new author and the book description. I have come across a few novels that deal with Heaven and this one looks like a very well researched one and resplendent with James passion for the Lord and what He promises us once we go to be with Him. I am very much looking forward to reading this novel. 

So let me introduce you to this new, Christian author, James E. Tate. First, let's have a look at his Bio:


I worked for Bell Telephone Company in Oklahoma, Missouri and for Bell Labs in New Jersey. I retired as District Data Systems Manager, and since, have had two of my books published, Tale of Tails with a Thirst for Verse, and I Go To Prepare a Place - An Allegory of Eternity. A few more books are anxiously waiting on the shelf, wondering when I’ll honour them with publication. Over 700 of my articles and poems have appeared in magazines, newspapers and newsletters, and I have served in many capacities in the Fellowship of Christian Writers in Oklahoma, and the Fellowship of Christian Poets in Florida. I’ve taught poetry workshops, and I’ve written prose and poetry columns.

I live in Tulsa with my bride who has stuck with me 68 years. I tell her that if she keeps on doing good, I may keep her around. She is quick to retort, “Don’t you threaten me!” We have a passel of offspring—3 children, 5 grands, 15 greats and two great-greats—as the world turns we keep on counting. Hey, when you’re octogenarians, they add up. We attend church regularly and have filled many church positions down through the years. I still play tennis two or three times a week and ride my mountain bike often. I’m 88 and she’s, none of your business. Thankfully, the Lord has indeed blessed us.


Now let's have a look at I Go to Prepare a Place, released on August 17, 2016, in e-book and printed editions:

Book Description:

The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth His handiwork. (Psalm 19:1)

We can only imagine the delightful environment of Heaven. Its ecstasy is more difficult to describe than a multi-splendored sunrise, or the captivating beauty of a symphony. However challenging it may be, the author grapples with the subject in-depth to provide realistic, although speculative views of this sacred place, while an exciting plot unfolds. Along the way, ordinary people and biblical characters learn answers to many intriguing questions. Imagine timelessness while you consider this thought: Time is a dimension of life awaiting our venture into timeless eternity.

Come along with the protagonist, Travis Taylor, who shows a newcomer, Josh Jenkins, the wonders of Heaven. Josh experiences Heaven’s utopian atmosphere, adjusting quickly, surprising Travis with astonishing perception. The pair meet legendary characters and learn of their joys and sorrows of life. An underlying question nags at their consciousness—why does the universe have so much space and so many galaxies, if not to be used with purpose and meaning? Unknown to the pair in this fictional episode, their involvement is preparing them for an ultimate assignment on distant planets. A place with challenges and many dangers.

Fasten your seat belts for rapid transit, as you go exploring Heaven, then to outer space with these men. Witness their daring exploits, their joyous discoveries, and savor the moment they make a life-changing discovery—an unexpected encounter, incredible and awesome. Don’t be surprised if this novel motivates you to search your soul in your walk of faith. Enjoy.

I asked James why he wrote this novel and he replied:

My initial purpose for writing this novel was to create a desire for heaven, by showing some wonderful things inside the gates of pearl. We all wonder what heaven and the ecstasy of Jesus are like, and in my attempt to whet reader’s appetite to go there, I researched available sources. The Bible, of course, was high on the list. I perused other books and articles on the subject, plus some interesting reports of near-death experiences, with the person getting a peek at the streets of gold. I began to develop a clearer view of this magnificent place called heaven. Those resources, coupled with my own imagination, equipped me to give readers a vicarious feel for this glorious place—especially through the eyes of the protagonist and other characters.

I worried over the book like a dog gnawing a bone, many months while the novel grew. I sent drafts to a few friends and received encouragement, but I was not happy with it. I set it aside, pulling it out from time to time. I tinkered with it a few years and gave it some new titles in the process. It still seemed incomplete. I wondered if God, in his omniscient wisdom had bigger plans for this vast universe—and perhaps for this book. Did He create innumerable galaxies and trillions of stars for special purposes not disclosed to humans? Aha! Outer space! This was what I needed for the second half of the book—a thrilling planetary exploration for some of the main characters. Trips with dangers, intrigues and life-changing discoveries. An odyssey sanctioned by Jesus Himself! I know, that’s a stretch, but this sci-fi twist is an author’s prerogative, right? In eternity and it’s inevitable lengthiness, how else would distant cousins (if they exist) be evangelised? To provide this aspect, my imaginings went into orbit, sailing beyond the horizon, the solar system, the Milky Way galaxy, and into the unexplored universe. The book grew. Is there a sequel? Maybe.

After reading this it might be beneficial to read an excerpt, just to get a hint of what to expect, so here is one and the explanation why James chose this:

After Travis and Josh spent much joyous time in heaven, they were surprised by a visit from Michael. The imposing archangel helped prepare them for an assignment on distant planets.


---------------Start of Excerpt:---------------

Michael stroked his white beard, partly covering his bronzed cheeks. With a smile in his bright eyes, he said, “As I inferred, it’s hard to wrap our minds around the thought of eternity. With the new and exciting things you will be doing, you won’t have time nor inclination to be bored.

“Some are going to special assignments on Earth after its makeover. Some elsewhere out in the universe. Some noteworthy people have already been given assignments, for example—Moses, Joshua, Daniel, and Philip from Bible days, along with a post-Bible group consisting of Abe Lincoln, Jonathan Edwards, Charles Spurgeon, Billy Sunday, and Peter Marshall—these and many more are preparing to go soon. The list goes on to include thousands of others.”

“My, my! I don’t feel like being included in a special assignment along with those heavyweights,” Travis exclaimed.

“Have you considered that most of those mentioned felt the same way early on? You will grow into it. And when necessary, you will have Divine help in doing so.

“Now, let’s get on with this discussion. Although some of your past contacts have told you things that helped prepare you, you men need to learn much before venturing to your new assignment on distant planets.”

“Sounds important. Where? When?”

-------------End of Excerpt:---------------

Since its release in August 2016, James seems to have started off with reviews on a good footing. Here are some of them:

Amazon Top Customer Reviews


By Hanna on September 29, 2016
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I found this book to be captivating! The intrigue of the story development gives Christians food for thought, and it holds your interest to the end. It is a great read!!


Exciting and realistic view of the possible activities we will have in heaven.
By Rosybook on September 20, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase


I loved the surprising development of the story. Very exciting, entertaining and realistic.


 Five Stars By Janice Edge on September 24, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase


Great read!!!


```````````````````````````````````````````````````````
If this has whetted your appetite to buy this novel or to read a further excerpt, please click on the BUY or PREVIEW icon below.




Readers and reviews are an author's best asset, so I encourage any reader of Christian science-fiction/fantasy, supernatural, inspirational fiction to consider reading I Go To Prepare A Place and submit a review on Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and on Google+, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest (or any other social media you subscribe to).

Wednesday, 28 December 2016

Author/Novel Spotlight: R.J Amezcua

I love discovering new novels, especially from debut authors. It is such a joy when you see that it is not just a story they have written but have included a detailed world building on different levels, back history, language, symbols, spirituality, cultural elements and more. Such is the case with debut author R. J. Amezcua. I could not resist but to spotlight him when I read some of the above elements on his website. 

This is one very interesting and complex novel from these elements. One thing that impressed me was the spiritual aspects and how biblically sound these are from what you see in his world building. I am looking forward to reading it and every other book in the series that is to follow. 

So sit back and grab a glimpse of the imagination that is expressed in the world building of R.J Amezcua. Firstly, let us discover a little about himself: 

R. J. Amezcua was born and raised in Silicon Valley and is happily married to Sheryl. R.J Amezcua has always enjoyed science fiction. As a young boy, one of his favorite TV shows was Lost in Space. As an entrepreneur and visionary by nature, he has begun his journey as an author. Using his love for science fiction, he created the epic saga “Mantis Force,” which encompasses a vast universe. He strongly believes that others have unique gifts and talents, and hopes that his vision and work will inspire and influence many to reach for their own dreams.

Now let's have a look at Fiero One, which was released on November 17, 2016, in e-book and printed editions:

Book Description:

In the year of our Lord 2068.

It’s the twilight of the second age in a group of five galaxies called the Quintástraya. The era of Guardian victories over the military forces of the Tisrad master races has come to an end. Now a dreadful prophecy unfolds, one that affects every living soul in the Quintástraya. And it begins in a region of lawless deep space called the dead zone. 

Embittered that he had to postpone his engagement to his beloved fiancée and with a strong sense of foreboding, Captain Asafa of the Guardianship Osparatta is sent on an unusual mission beyond Guardian borders to rescue a civilian exploration team of a transitional government. But instead of finding helpless scientists, he finds himself the vanguard against resurrected legions of conscripted soldiers once serving the Tisrad master races, killed millennia ago. With less than a full complement of crew, and the Osparatta’s losses mounting by the minute, Asafa is hard-pressed to carry out orders from Guardian High Command to hold his position until reinforcements arrive. But failure to hold back the rising tide of evil will determine not only the fate of himself and his crew but every single human and peaceful alien race in the Quintástraya.

I asked R.J why he wrote this novel:

First, a little about me. I am a Christian born and raised in the Silicon Valley, California. After what seemed like a millennium floundering in search of true love, I have achieved a blissful marriage with my lovely wife Sheryl. Oh, I can’t go without mentioning that I have great kids (all grown up now).

My love of science fiction began long ago, in a living room with a magical box atop wooden legs. I was enraptured by flying saucers, Robby the robot, ray guns and all things outer space. Out of the many programs that I watched, Lost in Space was one of my all-time favourites. As time passed, I added science fiction literature. Now that I think about it, I must have read over five hundred books. That’s a lot of Starbucks coffee mind you. Although there are various categories within the science fiction book genre, Christian-themed stories seemed greatly underrepresented in respect to the number of those who have faith in JESUS CHRIST, worldwide. I believe that number is over ONE BILLION! The problem at first glance is that no one wants to read a sermon in a fictional universe, and that includes me.

On April 4th, 2004, a solution was birthed. It was then that the inspiration was planted in my heart to meld my love for science fiction with my faith. Now, after carefully laying the foundations of my Christian allegorical universe, I have been able to craft an epic story that speaks of the hope of HIS return and the restoration of true peace to the world.

About Mantis Force: 

The Word “Mantis” is taken from the Greek language which means prophets or seer. This gives the epic saga its meaning; the force of the prophets or Mantis Force. Some of the names of worlds, galaxies, numbers, and core groups were created with combinations of Greek, Latin, and Hebrew words. I chose these languages because they were inscribed on the LORD's cross which translates to "King of the Jews." Spiritual beings whether good or bad are given fictional ranks, names and functions.

One ironic note about my journey is that I vividly recall when I was in high school, my English teacher told me that if I applied myself in her class I would excel. My response at the time was, “Why should I do that? It’s not as if I am going to be a writer!” Looking back at that moment, I know GOD must have a sense of humor.

Now that your appetite may be whetted, it might be beneficial to read an excerpt, just to get a hint of what to expect. RJ explains why he chose this except:

In the following pages, I highlighted a group of sixteen-year-old girls (Omicron rank) aboard a Guardianship the Osparatta on a military training mission in a region of lawless deep space in the dead zone called the Rakia Expanse. During the mission, the Guardians discover a hidden enemy base which forces them to defend a government outside of the influence of the Mantis Alliance. A fierce battle erupts between them and legions of darkness known as Necrogogs. But catastrophic inexplicable power drains threaten the ship’s survival and that of the entire crew. The loss of power coupled with the battle on the Fiero One moon drain the resources of the ship and the personnel in light of the fact that the ship is severely undermanned. This mandates the Captain to enlist his young charges into active service.

The pages that you will read are the result of one of the Omicrons, Aona who asserts that the widespread unexplainable power failures throughout the ship are caused by undetectable creatures. This farfetched theory is the source of much levity amongst them, yet is the beginning of a strong bond between the four teenagers.

I just love this particular part of the story. I believe that the young ladies in this excerpt exemplify that bravery is not exclusive to old age or those of larger physical stature. Far from the comfortable confines of their home base, these coming of age girls begin to understand that they can overcome any obstacle with the support of one another as well as their deeply rooted faith. Bonded as one, they rise to the occasion; become an integral part of the crew and step into new responsibilities. This proves to be a wise decision as they will need each other’s support and strength to save their lives and those of the crew.


---------------Start of Except:---------------

“Aona, you actually think some unknown creature is absorbing the ship’s power, causing all this random damage?” Nacia asked her eyebrows rising provocatively. Somae darted a disbelieving glance at Nacia, dismayed at her attempt to mock Aona. Before Aona could reply, Kimka broke in sarcastically

“Let’s see…” she drawled. “How could a creature,” she continued with a sing-song lilt to her voice, “absorb so much power from different points of the ship simultaneously? If, and I really mean if it is a creature, wouldn’t someone have seen it by now? I, along with everyone else, definitely believe it would have been detected by the ship’s internal sensors…right?” Aona glowered at her, rejecting her peer’s denigrating attitude.

“Is this the theory you came up with during your free time?” Kimka continued, chidingly pulling Nacia gently to her side by the forearm, disputing the validity of Aona’s theory openly. It was clear to Aona that the two had previously discussed it behind her back. She deliberately ignored the provocation, her voice slightly perturbed. “I am getting back to work.

Are you going to join me?” She silently shoved the hurt away and vowed to guard her heart. Somae’s lips pursed with disapproval at Kimka and Nacia’s lack of support. They paired up into their assigned teams and moved down the hallway to the next section of the ship’s hull. The panels were already removed to allow easy access to the damaged components. Bantu, still unseen, followed closely behind and stopped at the curve of the bulkhead as she heard Kimka’s raised voice.

“What’s this?” She asked loudly, her forearm braced on the corridor wall above the open panel. She darted a glance at the others on her left to make sure she had their attention. Leaning closer, she poked her head halfway into the opening as she silently inspected the interior for a few moments.

Abruptly, she reared back, wearing a look of disbelief and hint of panic on her face. “What?” She said, adding to the drama, all the while knowing that she had their attention. Kimka turned to face them and put her arm straight out toward them with a flat hand signal stopping them from coming closer.

Frowning, she stuck her head back into the opening to get a better look. Nacia moved closer with obvious concern and some curiosity and leaned over Kimka’s right shoulder. “What is what?” Nacia whispered softly but still loud enough for Aona and Somae to hear.

“Did you see that?” Kimka said, whispering incredulously with a dramatic overtone to her voice.

“What is that?” asked Nacia, unknowingly imitating her tones, trying without success to peer around Kimka’s body.

“I don’t know, but I’m going to find out…right now!” She stated firmly, lightly pushing Nacia back with her shoulder. She pressed her cheek against the bulkhead, facing Somae and Aona and leaned in as far as she could, her arm disappearing up to the shoulder. A shocked look of horror came over her face as she was jerked violently inward, her upper body lightly bouncing off the wall and then, though it seemed impossible, even harder with her face mashed into the metal. Bantu, holding her breath, fought the instinct to run to her assistance and the spirit within her would not let her. Bantu peered around the corner.

Nacia let out a small shriek. “Kimka, pull your arm out of there. Now!”

She yelled, involuntarily. A panicked grimace came over Kimka’s face and she gritted her teeth as she tried to free herself from whatever had her in its grip. She groaned deeply, as if in intense pain, and began to pant shallowly in fear. Aona and Somae dropped their tools and raced to her aid but then stood helplessly as Nacia tried to grab her arm and pull her out. Bantu moved toward the girls to intervene but became aware something odd was going on. She noticed that Kimka’s legs were braced in a position to push inward instead of outward, not trying to get away at all. The others had appeared not to notice. She closed her eyes and shook her head indulgently with a small smile on her face. Nacia grabbed Kimka about the waist and shoulder and tried to forcibly pull her out. Losing her hold, she staggered back slightly. Quickly righting herself, she renewed her efforts to help free Kimka. The lights overhead flickered once more reminding them of the danger to the ship.

“Help. It’s got me!” Kimka screamed.

“It’s got me! It’s got me!” Frantically she said in low tones, her chest heaving with panic as she stared with a glazed look directly into Aona’s eyes.

“What’s got you?” Aona shrieked, beginning to hop up and down in distress.

Kimka looked down and away from the would-be heroines and dramatically removed her arm from the access port in the wall.

“This!” She exclaimed loudly, waggling her head, her face lightly mocking.

The others had instinctively backed away but, noticing the smile, they looked at the small welder that had apparently been abandoned in the earlier repairs.

Somae laughed out loud and the others nervously joined in.

“Hah…got you good, didn’t I?” Kimka asked, laughing uproariously,

provokingly waving the welder in front of Aona’s face. “ You thought it was your energy creature, didn’t you?” She involuntarily hiccupped in her excitement over the gag. Soon, they were all laughing uncontrollably. They stopped, looked at each other then gave themselves over to another helpless round. The unbearable tension of the day seeped away with the relief of the unbridled laughter that echoed through the passageway.

Taking a pose with her hands on her hips and a little swagger in her attitude, Aona shook her finger in humorous reprove. “Alright, I have to admit, you got me good. But you just wait and see…I’ll get you back.” The girls let out another whoop of laughter.

“Well, Omicrons,” interrupted Officer Bantu in a stern voice. “I can see that you’re hard at work.” The four immediately snapped to attention.

“At ease.” She continued in a somewhat softer tone, looking at the girls with some amusement.

---------------End of Except:---------------

As I mentioned above, R.J has even developed an alphabet and language:
The languages and their corresponding alphabets were created to bring the core civilizations within the Mantis Force universe their unique identities. They have specific purposes such as activating gateways allowing travel throughout the five galaxies which make up the Quintástraya. The alphabets are also used for identifying specific Orders, Guilds, Military and other prominent entities.
This perspective is the back of Guardian Gragus; a field commander from House Skallakron. He arrives with his troops in support of the Guardians engaged in a fierce battle on the Fiero One moon.

The yellow energy signature on Gragus’ body armor is the corresponding light spectrum used for gate travel throughout the five galaxies of the Quintástraya for the House of Skallakron. Each of the twelve races that make up the Mantis has their own unique Guardian body armor and light spectrum color.

Each galaxy has its own color for gate travel. For instance, the Guardians of House Rhizonor and Skallakron are located in the Zhanifra galaxy whose corresponding color is purple. The other ten Houses are divided among the other four galaxies which have their own colors. The House of Skallakron battle crest is a scorpion as shown on his breastplate. Each house their own specific battle crest.

 
All those who serve in the Mantis military must take the Guardian Oath:
As a Mantis Guardian, I will faithfully serve and uphold the laws, the tenets, and the way of the Mantis. In combat, I shall conduct myself in accordance with the highest standards as a Guardian of Light. I shall guard my brother's life as my own. My faith and hope are in Abba El and HIS messiah alone. 

Below is the badge of the MARIUM KAHNET







The Marium Kahnet is an organization of holy women established during the Kelkemek wars of the first age. They hold positions in the Synod; the supreme authoritative government of the Mantis Alliance. These women often referred to as Mothers or Sisters have far-reaching influence that goes well beyond governments. 


The Marium Kahnet strictly adhere to teachings contained within the Kodashah (the holy book of the prophets). As service to Abba El (GOD the FATHER) and HIS Messiah, they exemplify the way of the Mantis with manifold ministries toward all societies. Each Marium Kahnet sister, with varying degrees of mastery can control their body’s living tissue to the cellular level. Additionally, they also possess various supernatural gifts some of which are healing, discerning of spirits, visions, dreams, prophetic knowledge, wisdom and on rare occasions the miracle of raising the dead to life.


MARIUM KAHNET OATH

Every member of the Marium Kahnet sisterhood must take the sacred oath and those who wish to live their lives accordingly are also encouraged to take the oath.

THE SHABAUH


I pledge my life as a vessel of light as I step through the veil of divine purpose. I am cleansed in purity. My head is adorned with humility. The ways of the Marium Kahnet are my life, my heart and my soul belongs to Abba El and in HIS messiah is my salvation.

More world building is found below: 


This is a map of Fiero Prime’s major continent. Marked on the map are the regions and specific locations which are used as settings within the Mantis Force Fiero One novel and upcoming book releases, Mantis Force “Fiero Two” and Mantis Force “Fiero Prime”.




This is a map detailing the locations where major battles take place and is used throughout the Mantis Force Fiero book trilogy. Initially, in the Mantis Force “Fiero One” novel, the military forces of the Fierian government engage the awakening Necrogog forces in these areas. Near the end of the novel, Captain Asafa of the Guardian ship the Osparatta initiates a daring mission into the heart of the enemy’s super fortress in Mortus Maw.



If the above has further whetted your appetite for more of R.J's Mantis Force world, you can go to the following social media platforms: 

Readers and reviews are an author's best asset, so I encourage any reader of Christian science-fiction/fantasy, supernatural, spiritual warfare, to consider reading Fiero One and submit a review on Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and on Google+, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest (or any other social media you subscribe to).

If you want to read another excerpt of Mantis Force: Fiero One or even to buy it, this can be achieved through the image and link below: 


Tuesday, 20 December 2016

My Year In Books 2016

My Year In Books 2016


(courtesy of Goodreads)


This post is to say a huge THANK YOU to the authors whose books I have read this year.

You have enriched my spiritual life, my knowledge of the Bible and how to live in a closer relationship with God and living out His Word. I have not only been entertained but have been spiritually uplifted, challenged and even confronted with issues that God needed to bring to my attention.

Never let it be said that God cannot use Christian fiction in all its genres and its authors to minister to reader's needs outside of the entertainment value while reinforcing in the author that they are writing for Him and not just because they have the talent to do so.

It has been my honour and pleasure to read, review, interview, spotlight, promote, blog tour and have you as a guest on my blog.

So authors, find your book(s) in the display below and give yourself a moment to be proud of your achievement and give God the glory for all He has achieved with the talent, creativity, inspiration that He has given you. I appreciate all of you and look forward to supporting you all again as you release new books and where my review schedule and life enable me to do so.